cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
srihari_n_yenam
Community Member

How can I access the list of students in a section via the API?

Hello! I was just tinkering with a Java library for the API and I was wondering how I could access the list of students specific to a section. I am very new to this, so any help is appreciated!

8 Replies
ericwerth
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi  @srihari_n_yenam  and welcome to the Canvas Community!  I don't work with Java and APIs much, but am going to share this question with the https://community.canvaslms.com/groups/admins?sr=search&searchId=b594a066-9477-4024-9d11-0664aa93b4a...‌ and https://community.canvaslms.com/groups/canvas-developers?sr=search&searchId=2d86f25b-2801-40e9-9970-...‌ groups to increase its visibility and in hopes that someone can provide useful insight.  If you have not already done so, you might consider joining these user groups as well.

All the best!

bneporadny
Community Champion

@srihari_n_yenam ‌,

You can accomplish this by using the list-users-in-course‌ api‌

Courses - Canvas LMS REST API Documentation 

Another thing you can use is the live api‌ to test you call without having to write any code and see the results you would receive back from the call.

Canvas Live API 

Hope this helps.

jschaffer
Community Champion

@srihari_n_yenam ‌,

You can probably approach this one of two ways, depending on how you will apply the data.  The easiest way I could see would be to run a canned provisioning report from Canvas for enrollments.  This should list the students, instructors, TAs, etc. in a given course and term, and from there you can filter the CSV for the section you want.  You can do this by going to the Admin Sheild => Settings => Reports => Provisioning => Enrollments => Filter by term => Export.