cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rcooper3
Community Member

How do I add an external link?

I want to add a link for Citation Machine and Citation Maker for a research paper.  I am new to Canvas, but familiar with Blackboard.  I finally managed to put the link on a Word Document and then upload it to a folder in files.  Is there a better or easier way to add a link?

2 Replies
kmeeusen
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi  @rcooper3  Welcome  to Canvas and the Canvas Community!

Finally, an easy question that I might almost be qualified to answer:-}

Yes, there are several ways, depending on how you want to use the link, and how you design your courses.

• The easiest way if you use Modules (and you should), is to simply add an External URL content type into your module.  Learn how at How do I add an external URL as a module item? 
  • You can also add an external link as a course navigation menu item if it is a website your students would frequently use during the term. You would do this using the Redirect Tool, and you can learn how in this great YouTube video, Canvas Redirect Tool - YouTube 

I hope this is helpful,

Kelley

chofer
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hello there,  @rcooper3 ...