Community

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ddumonde

Keyboard shortcuts for Next and Previous buttons?

Jump to solution

As an instructional designer, I spend much of my day working my way through the "horizontal" navigation of modules with the Next and Previous buttons – Scroll to the bottom of the page ... Next ... Scroll to the bottom of the page ... Next ... Scroll to the bottom of the page ... Next ...

Is there a keyboard shortcut for the Next and Previous buttons? It would be incredibly helpful to not have to scroll to the bottom of a page each time and be able to move to the Next page from anywhere in the current page.

(I realize this may depend on whether the cursor focus inside a field like the RCE, but maybe there will be a workaround. Indeed, this might be the main reason why these shortcuts don't exist.)

And if we do it, why not keyboard shortcuts for other common UI items, such as:

• Next
  • Previous
  • Home
  • Modules
  • Grades
  • Settings
  • Cancel
  • Save
  • Publish

I'm not asking about this from an accessibility standpoint, but from a user/admin standpoint.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
James
Community Champion

Here is a list of the Canvas Keyboard Shortcuts. Here's a link to Canvas' statement about accessibility: Accessibility within Canvas. When there is a conflict between accessibility and usability, accessibility often wins out.

One trick you can use when you're on a really long page is Ctrl+End. That's a browser shortcut that takes you to the end of the page where the navigation links exist. You'll still need to click on them, but you don't have to scroll.