cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
nlatimer
Community Champion

LTI - Free vs. Not

Hi,

I have looked around the community but did not see this anywhere. Does anyone know how to determine if an LTI app is free? I have tried looking at apps with "Open Access" on the EduAppCenter vs those that are authenticated. So it seems that the latter require a consumer key and shared secret - but does that information always cost money, or could that be free?

I have a VoiceThread subscription for my school, but VoiceThread wanted to charge me (yearly!!) for the consumer key and shared secret. It would be helpful to know how to find LTI apps that don't cost anything additional to add.

Thank you.

Nancy

33 Replies
Stefanie
Community Team
Community Team

nlatimer​, I'm going to change this to a discussion, because your question will probably not elicit a single "correct answer."

I can't generalize across all of the LTI apps in the EduApp Center, but I can tell you from my personal experience with Prulu that even though it requires authentication, a consumer key, and a shared secret, it is nonetheless free. I was able to contact the company directly and obtain all the information I needed to set it up in a course.

The way I would determine if a particular app is free or not is to click on the app creator's website link from the EduApps Center. It will take only a few minutes of scanning the website to discover whether the site has links for "Pricing Details," or "Want to Buy," or the like.

nlatimer
Community Champion

stefaniesanders​ thanks so much for your reply. I just looked at about a half-dozen apps via EduApps Center, and most of them say you have to contact the company for the information. I was hoping there would be an easier way to have an idea of what might be free. I fully expected VoiceThread to be free because I have the school subscription - but that was not the case.  :smileyconfused:

chofer
Community Coach
Community Coach