cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
navayodhanreddy
Community Participant

LTI Grade Passback to Canvas (Node)

Jump to solution

H all, I am new to Canvas. I have configured an external LTI application with Consumer and Shared keys. I have finished the quiz and not sure how to post the score back. I am trying to post the below values to the appropriate URL that I found from the Launch request and worried to see 422 error. I am not sure how to post the xml file back to canvas(just named the xml as POX). 

{

oauth_consumer_key: 'Canvas',

oauth_nonce: 'KXvHX41nyKdn1zZ9myKPCGRuep7Jrq6C',

oauth_signature_method: 'HMAC-SHA1',

oauth_timestamp: 1516127772,

oauth_version: '1.0',

POX: '<?xml version = "1.0" encoding = "UTF-8"?><imsx_POXEnvelopeRequest xmlns="http://www.imsglobal.org/services/ltiv1p1/xsd/imsoms_v1p0"><imsx_POXHeader><imsx_POXRequestHeaderInfo><imsx_version>V1.0</imsx_version><imsx_messageIdentifier>999999123</imsx_messageIdentifier></imsx_POXRequestHeaderInfo></imsx_POXHeader><imsx_POXBody><replaceResultRequest><resultRecord><sourcedGUID><sourcedId>245-608-13506-3529-e3f7e1de3a34bc56a747b863a09f5c970e65320d</sourcedId></sourcedGUID><result><resultScore><language>en</language><textString>0.92</textString></resultscore><resultData><text>text data for canvas submission</text></resultData></result></resultRecord></replaceResultRequest></imsx_POXBody></imsx_POXEnvelopeRequest>',

oauth_signature: 'MIdoNC8UHnvM72oKCyRvYRv6sf4='

}

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
pklove
Community Champion

I haven't done this in Node, but here are a couple of things that might point you in the general direction.

We send the XML in the body of the post.  The OAuth authentication is sent in a header.  The authentication string and signature generation should include the oauth_body_hash, which is a hash of the XML.

View solution in original post

5 Replies
Robbie_Grant
Community Coach
Community Coach

@navayodhanreddy ,