Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
aakash
Community Member

LTI Variable access inside the external tool

Jump to solution

LTI variable access inside the external tool or iframe

Hi,

Here i'm created external tool manually and created custom fields. Now added code in html file for accessing user data but i'm getting cross-origin error. can anyone please explain me how can i solve this. just i want to access user data inside the external tool. I'm new to canvas any one can please explain me how to do this

thanks

1 Solution
aakash
Community Member

Hi James,

Thank you so much for your replay It's working fine now. First i trace the values using "print_r($_REQUEST)" this, I got a complete details. Now everything working fine now. 

previously i tried like this $_REQUEST['canvas_api_domain'] but that time i don't know about CUSTOM prefix. 

after adding custom prefix everything working fine. 

Thanks

View solution in original post

5 Replies
kona
Community Coach
Community Coach

@aakash , greetings! Due to the technical nature of this question, I have shared it with the Canvas Developers group in the Community. You might consider joining this group so you have access to their resources and information. 

Kona

James
Community Champion

LTI calls make a POST call to the page with form data. You need to write a program to validate that the LTI request is valid and then process the form on the server. When you do that, you will have the values that were sent. How you do that depends on the programming language that you're using to handle the post.

POST values are sent to the server where they are handled. You're trying to use jQuery, which runs on the client side within the browser and it doesn't have access to the form submission unless the program you write on the server includes that.