Multiple Grades in One Discussion Post?

Jump to solution
gilroy
Community Novice

Hello,

For my class I am hoping to use a threaded discussion board so students can post responses to initial prompts (call this a post), and then also respond to their peers' responses (call this a response). A student might make both a post AND a response in one discussion (maybe even more than one response). I would like to grade posts and responses separately. As far as I can tell, a student can only receive one grade per discussion--but I have never used Canvas before, so I can't tell.

Can anybody help explain if this is possible?

Best,

Andrea Gilroy

University of Oregon

1 Solution

@gilroy , awilliams​ is correct that the best way I know to grade students on different aspects of their participation in a discussion is through a rubric.

Below is a rubric I use to grade most of my discussions. It allows me to enter an individual grade for each activity the students should be doing in the discussion. For example, the initial post is worth 10 points, but I can enter in any value I want (I don't have to stick with 10, 5, or 0) and provide comments and feedback for that specific grade. Yet, it does summarize all the points (individual parts) into one overall grade for that specific discussion.

Discussion rubric.png