cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
hera
Community Participant

Multiple Numerical Answers

Jump to solution

In consulting the Canvas Guide, it indicates that a question can have multiple numerical answers.  I can create a question with multiple numerical answers but when I preview the quiz as a student, I am given only one answer box.

I feel sure I am missing something, but shouldn't there be an answer box for each answer?

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
James
Community Champion

@hera ​,

You're recognizing what many math teachers have known for a while --- we need more functionality than is available in Canvas right now. In fact, Deactivated user​ from Canvas asked for feedback just today on a a related question about " modifiedtitle="true" title="Rounding in a Formula Quiz Question: Thoughts?

As for the question at hand, you gave me the information, but not the source, so it's hard to put it within context. Luckily, the Community has a search and once I had the text, I was about to find the source: How do I create a Numerical Answer quiz question?

You may have two correct answers, but only to one question. In the image right above what you quoted, it says "Students will be given an empty text box" (emphasis is mine). You get just one box.

So why allow multiple answers?

While it doesn't sound normal for a math question to have multiple correct answers, you might for something like "What is 20% or 30%" and then want either 0.06 or 6% as a correct answer. So you would put in 0.06 and 6 as correct answers.

A better use is probably to provide feedback for incorrect responses. So, if someone puts in 6, you could say, "Be sure to enter your number as a proportion, not a percent." or "Make sure you don't do any rounding until the end of the problem." That's probably how it was intended.