cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
am_jagusztyn
Community Participant

Pop up Dialog Box with Access Code

Hi Everyone,

I'm not a developer. I'm working with the code from this page on a pop up dialog box. I'd like to know if there is code for the same feature, but when you click on the dialog box, you need to type in a password to see the content. 

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

4 Replies
kmeeusen
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi  @am_jagusztyn  

I also am not a coder, and I don't even play one on TV; but I do dabble a bit with HTML coding in Canvas.

The easy answer to this one is a resounding "NO"! This is because Canvas will strip out most executable code that you try to enter.

What are you trying to do? Perhaps we can help you find an easy work-round.

Kelley

am_jagusztyn
Community Participant

Thank you for your reply. The same as those wanting Module access to specific groups, sections or students and in differentiated pages - we're finding challenges when having different sections within the same course. Overall, it makes life easier for the teacher, but when the sections are on different days, have assessments at different time, there's no way (that I know of) to hide content from a particular group of students. If it were taken as a quiz, the access code would solve the issue, but I've informed the instructors to keep the questions / directions off the assignment itself and only show it to the students the day of. Of course as the content is the same, neither of these prevents students in one section informing students of the content who take it later. Any other forums where someone has found luck in hiding content?

Hello  @am_jagusztyn ...