Removing a Group Member from a Group in Canvas after Grades

Jump to solution
jcapell
Community Member

I am an instructor using group assignments. I've been digging for hours and finding all kinds of wonderful information that almost answers my question. 🙂

When we have group sets in Canvas and assignments linked to "this is a group assignment" for grading but then a group member disappears or drops out, what is the best way to remove that group member from the group set?

The easiest work around seems to be to change the assignments to grade individually; however, my group is adamant that they want to remove the missing group member so that this group member is not receiving group communication via Canvas.

I see we can clone group sets. Do I clone the group sets, delete all the clones except the one group I want to remove a member from, rename that particular group, and then remove the withdrawn group member from the new cloned/re-named group and tell the group to begin using the new cloned/renamed group? Will this affect other groups? How will this affect assignments or the grade book?

I appreciate any help!

~Jennifer

0 Likes
1 Solution
nwilson7
Community Champion

@jcapell Gotcha, so basically the error happens when the student (or members of a group they are in, which sounds more likely in this case) has already submitted stuff and potentially received grades for it and you are using the same group set again for other assignments.  If they were not part of the group in reality, it should be okay to select the second radial option to make the change.  This removes their grade if they got one and removes them from being part of the submission.  I would move them into their own group instead of just to the unassigned so they are still assigned the assignment if they randomly show up again.