cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
b_delizza
Community Participant

Solution for Large (2GB+) File Submissions

Hi All,

I'm looking for a solution where students are able to upload files larger than 2GB as an assignment submission. The series of schools that I'm an admin for are heavy in creative media, and in that sector are often ending up with single files that are upwards of 2GB. It seems that the Google Drive LTI still won't bypass the 2GB limit, which kind of sucks because our students all have unlimited storage through Google Drive.

If anybody knows a workaround to this that would be fantastic, as I'm sure there are others in this situation. I've reached out to Canvas support about this and if they get an answer I'll update it here.

19 Replies
James
Community Champion

@GregoryBeyrer 

This is the problem with [me] being a slow typist -- I didn't see your response or Brian's back to you until I had written mine or I would have definitely credited you in it.

natalie_norton1
Community Champion

Hi - we have also had this problem in the last few weeks, and been given various suggestions. Not sure how helpful this will be but thought I would share what we have been told so far! 

We have had some conflicting advice with regard to the assignment upload limit, with the most recent being that there is no limit (as long as it is not going through the media recorder) but we have not been able to fully test this. It was also suggested by support that there is no limit  if the student uploads to their personal files first and then submits to a course assignment. We were also looking at using office 365 (which we have rather than google) but also had the problem with limiting editing after the deadline.