cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
bbennett2
Community Champion

Use modal dialogs from style guide

Jump to solution

I'm trying to build a course resource that uses the styleguide modal dialogs. I'm familiar with HTML and JavaScript, but I can't quite figure out where to include the JavaScript portion of the modal. 

I did find a post on using the built-in classes, but the dialogs are limited to 300px wide, which isn't desirable at all. Any tips on how to implement modals with more flexibility? I am a Canvas Admin, so I can make changes to the Account settings if necessary.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
James
Community Champion

@bbennett2 ,

The Canvas Style Guide is for developers of the Canvas software, not for end users, but it can be useful for people styling things like Canvas does provided people know that and are aware of the purpose and the limitations.

The modals in the Style Guide use ReactJS, which is not exposed to the browser like jQuery is. In other words do not attempt to do Modals the way they do, but come up with your own way of doing modals.

The post you found was made before Canvas decided to deprecate the enhanceable_content class for user content. Accordions have been removed and use of the other jQuery UI widgets mentioned throw a warning, but still work --- for the time being. You are now expected to supply your own JavaScript library if you want to use things like tabs and you should use the modals for that library.

There was a lot of discussion in the Community about this last year (2017). Part of the issue may be that the comments on the discussion you referred to goes on for pages, but unless you see the next links at the bottom, you may never get that far. It's not until page 5 that they start talking about the deprecation.

Here are two of the most definitive / useful threads, which are what I've summarized above.

View solution in original post

4 Replies
ericwerth
Community Coach
Community Coach