Community

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
dmg34
Community Member

What does imported grades highlighted red mean?

Jump to solution

I'm new to use the import grades feature, but the last time I did so I don't remember seeing any of these red rows.... I can't figure out what they mean!? There isn't any rhyme or reason to which rows are in red, that I can make out. And it is only on one of the two uploaded assignments. (These are both running totals that I upload periodically.) All the data uploaded correctly, but I don't understand why these are shown in red in the confirmation step...?

292259_Sketch.png

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
kblack

Hi  @dmg34 ‌ - I admit that I don't have too many of our own faculty at my institution using this feature, so I'm hardly an expert on this topic myself, but if I had to give you a wild guess, I would say that it means the new grade that is getting uploaded is lower than the grade that is currently given in the gradebook.  You'll note from your screen capture that the only columns in red are for those changes representing a lower grade in the TO column when compared to the FROM column.

Adding to this little mystery is the fact that a screen capture somewhat similar to yours (albeit with fewer red rows!) also appears on the online lesson from the instructor's guide here:  How do I upload changes to the Gradebook?  Interestingly, the guide does not say why there is red coloring, either!  You might want to pose your question on that page, in fact.  As you can see from the various comments underneath, the  @jivedocs_unfede ‌ does look at comments on those pages and will take those into account when updating their online guides.  You may very well want to suggest that an explanation for the red coloring be added to that page near the appropriate screen capture. (Though their screen capture, as well, seems to confirm my guess regarding the lower scores.)

Hope this helps a bit, Deborah!