cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
liuz21
Community Participant

Why can not see the tab of Google Docs or Google Drive when submitting an Assignment?

Jump to solution

How do I connect to Google Drive as a web service in Canvas? In my account, Google Drive has already been a registered service in my account - I am an admin. Why I can not see the tab of Google Docs or Google Drive when I am testing to submit an assignment?

Thanks.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
James
Community Champion

@liuz21 ​,

How are you testing submission?

If you're doing it as the test student, that's not your account, so the Google Account isn't linked to it and the Google Docs tab will only show up if you have a registered service for that account (test student).

If you're masquerading as a student, then this is a security feature. People who are masquerading as someone else do not get access to their Google Files. I use that to reassure my students that even though I'm a Canvas Admin and can see almost anything, I can't see their Google files (or submit it for them if they forget)

View solution in original post

14 Replies
James
Community Champion

@liuz21 ​,

How are you testing submission?

If you're doing it as the test student, that's not your account, so the Google Account isn't linked to it and the Google Docs tab will only show up if you have a registered service for that account (test student).

If you're masquerading as a student, then this is a security feature. People who are masquerading as someone else do not get access to their Google Files. I use that to reassure my students that even though I'm a Canvas Admin and can see almost anything, I can't see their Google files (or submit it for them if they forget)

View solution in original post

kona
Community Coach
Community Coach