cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ellenbcutler
Community Contributor

create an image gallery

Jump to solution

How do I create an image gallery in Canvas? I teach art history. I want to be able to create image galleries (5-20 images each) for students to study. Some images will appear on quizzes. Please understand that I am a novice, I am easily frustrated and extremely technophobic. It will help me (and possibly others) if answers are in simple clear English and if all technical terms are defined. Please don't assume I have any real understanding of this thing because I don't. Thank you.  image gallery art history

1 Solution

I use Padlet with my art students all the time. They love it, and they would agree; it's really easy to learn! We use it to create galleries of their work, share resources, swap ideas, etc. We've found many different uses for Padlet, and I am also surprised that more teachers don't utilize it. :smileygrin:

View solution in original post

59 Replies
kmeeusen
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi ellenbcutler

So what you want is a tool (preferably a Canvas tool) that will allow you to create a place in your classroom where your students can browse through a couple dozen images of Impressionist or Cubism example, with your text explaining each example of something along those lines. This would be useful for far more courses than just Art History!

Canvas does not have a built-in tool like that, and in searching for just such a tool that could be integrated into Canvas (for a couple of my health career programs), I did not find any that were simply an image gallery.tool.

However, there are several "Lesson-Building tools" available for which a component would work for what you need, and they integrate well with Canvas.  My personal favorite is SoftChalk Cloud