Community

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
bsmith14

"Time Spent"

I've been tasked with designing a custom report on students "time spent" on their courses. I'm still very new to Canvas, and the API responsibility is held by someone else so I'm not able to do the requests myself (grrrr) - I have to pass them through him. I've been trying to do some research on this but the sheer volume of data is staggering and I'm not honestly sure where to start. I'm also not working on the latest data, but rather older data so that I can mess around. I've seen references to the "requests" table, but don't see that at all on the list of tables that I've been given access to, so I need to be sure that this is where I should to start.

I'm already aware that this is probably not the best report to begin with, and the results can be skewed by any number of things but that's the request.

Any suggestions or advice is gratefully accepted. 

Tags (3)
8 Replies
ericwerth
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi  @bsmith14 and welcome to the Canvas Community!  It sounds like you have an interesting project ahead!  I am not an expert on APIs but thought I would share this with the Canvas Admins‌ and Canvas Developers‌ user groups in hopes of bringing your question to the attention of the great folks in these groups.  You might consider joining one or both of these groups if you have not already done so.  There is great information here.

All the best and good luck!

0 Kudos
jeremy_lykken

Hi Bronwen,

The process for accessing the data from the Canvas API can be a struggle for first-time users, because it requires working knowledge of HTTP, APIs, programming, and data science. Below is a list of general steps you will need to take to get your course user data.