2018 Reflection: The Humanity of it All!

Renee_Carney
Community Team
Community Team

As I begin my fourth year on the Community Team, I like to reflect on the awesome experiences I’ve had at Instructure (and in my personal life) to surface inspiration to carry into the new year. (Thanks @kristin for this reminder). So as I ruminate (as a cattle farmer I love the word ruminate) on 2018 there are three themes that I wish to bring with me into 2019, and I hope they inspire you as well:

“Relationships transcend community.”

I can’t downplay it at all: I have an awesome job and an awesome team! We get to log in every morning and spend our days with you. Each day presents a different set of challenges, but that’s just part of doing ‘life’ with other humans. We grow together in the good times and in the difficult times. The key is to do it together.

You won’t have to spend long in the Community before you find someone sharing their needs or desires and then seeing a group of individuals come alongside them to brainstorm and offer solutions. It is the foundation of why we are here! It is our greatest success! But it’s not just our day-to-day work challenges that unite us; sometimes it’s our personal challenges. 2018 gave us one of our greatest examples of just how powerful this Community—and the relationships and friendships we build—are. It needs no introduction: just read:

Stepping up the #stepsforbeth
#StepsForBeth, A Community Destination

“Openness requires a level of vulnerability and grace.”

I had originally planned to break openness and grace into separate themes, but I just couldn’t address one without the other. Openness and transparency require a level of vulnerability and oftentimes humility. Openness is simple when you’re sharing good news, but it can’t always be good news.