cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
wendy-riggs
Community Member

HTML tabs break in new discussions

Oh! I'm excited about many of the updates to the discussion tool. However, it appears I am unable to use TABS in the new tool. Is this by design? An oversight? 

I am an instructor and unfortunately, I spent all last semester updating my discussion assignments to include TABS. Please tell me I'm missing something...

Just to check, I toggled between New Discussions and the old (with no other changes). the tabs showed up fine with old discussions...and broke with new.

Old discussion tool: 

Old discussion tabs.png

New discussion tool: 

New discussion no tabs.png

My fingers are crossed...thank you!

13 Replies
ilovell
Community Contributor

Tabs are not working for us either if the discussions redesign is turned on for discussions. It is almost like the right-hand side is preventing scaling.

I just panicked a bit because I recently figured out how to make accordions that work in mobile because tabs do not. Hopefully attached image of my testing. Accordions still do work but, the <div> doesn't seem to span across the content window with redesign on but, does scale across with resdesign with off.

I saw there were some issues with announcements not displaying the file attachments with the resdesign turned on (it doesn't work for us either). I did a test with redesign on in announcements and tabs no longer work and accordions no longer fit to window there either.

0 Kudos
tom_gibbons
Community Contributor

Those tabs were part of the old UI, if I'm not mistaken. They were deprecated a few years ago when they shifted to React/InstUI. You can still use them, but they aren't being maintained. 

0 Kudos
Katrina-Hess
Instructure
Instructure

That's exactly right @tom_gibbons, we are replacing this codebase with React/InstUI and are not maintaining that former functionality.