Ability to easily open newly-created course

This one is for my fellow admins and those who love them.

Faculty, staff, student groups, etc. ask us to make them classes in Canvas. We make them classes in Canvas. We get a pop up box that says the class has been created. Then we have to search for the new title and manually add the users.

Why can't the pop up box be a link to the course? Instead of just saying there is a new course in the sea of 45,000 courses, we could click on the course title in the box and be taken to the new course. It's such a little thing that would make all of our lives a bit easier and bring joy to admins everywhere.

Thanks,

-Lea

18 Comments
kmeeusen
Community Champion

As a fellow beloved Admin, I would be beholden for this:smileysilly:

I would also like it to be much easier to enroll users for a newly created course (or any course) ofr example, say a search box from People page.

KLM

noah
Community Novice

This feature would return approximately 2.5 hours to me per year.

Not because I create a lot of courses manually, either. But because when I do, I'm usually in the presence of faculty who then make a comment such as "why do you have to search for the course you just created? See, I keep hearing that Canvas is intuitive..." and from there I must weather 2.5 to 5 minutes worth of a tirade about Canvas being about as intuitive as a two-ton slab of queso fresco in the middle of a vacant lot on the edge of town.

Please, this feature request seems like a little one. But a little goes a long, long way here.

biray
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

This idea has moved to the next stage and will be open for voting among the Canvas Community, from Wed. March 2, 2016 - Wed. June 1, 2016.

Check out this doc for additional details about how the voting process works!

MattHanes
Community Champion