[Commons] Ability to share a rubric to the Commons

As a Canvas Admin I can add a rubric to the Outcomes area which allows faculty to click "Find a Rubric" when adding a rubric to either an assignment or to a discussion.  Would it be possible to share a rubric created under Outcomes to the Canvas Commons? I believe our faculty would like the ability to share rubrics they have created to the Commons.

Transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Christine Dereberry

Additional contributions by: @bruce_Boone, Robert Caldwell

Added to Theme

32 Comments
ajoyaux
Community Novice

In addition to sharing my rubrics within the Canvas network, I'd like to be able to export them for inclusion in an email or a paper or a presentation.

paul_gouveia
Community Member

It would be great to have a "Rubrics" button next to the "Assignments", "Modules",  "Quizzes" buttons etc. in the Commons, so that teachers could easily share and search for Canvas Rubrics so that we can more easily use and edit Canvas Rubrics. This would be a huge help in limiting the amount of work (cutting and pasting parts of rubrics from existing documents) when creating rubrics in Canvas.  OR create a "Smart Rubric Import Tool" so that teachers can easily load their existing rubrics into Canvas. (Which would probably be very difficult and have to be a separate feature request).

michelle_ciccar
Community Novice

Thank-you! This was exactly the workaround needed! I was able to share "Assignments" to the commons which are named after the School-Wide Learner Outcome associated with the specific school-wide rubrics we all use, and it allows colleagues to both share and modify as needed, as well as to contribute to a bank of consistent rubrics that can make things much easier and much more clear for our students.

michelle_ciccar
Community Novice