Account level calendar (and sub-account level calendar)

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

Account level and sub-account level calendar use cases:

1. Holiday dates
  2. Open days
  3. Special events
  4. Competitions

All users within that account or sub-account would see these calendar events.

98 Comments
ryan_corris
Community Contributor

I will have to check that out.  The problem with adding it to all published courses would be that the same event would be repeated numerous times on the calendar. 

bbrown
Community Novice

This would be a huge plus for our institution too. Hope Canvas will make this happen soon.   

deana_bishop
Community Novice

This school-wide calendar feature was available in Blackboard.  Canvas--- Please catch up!

rislis
Community Champion

I'm still a Canvas rookie, but how can something be in radar for 2 years and not be implemented? I am wondering about a District Wide calendar, as well. Not finding answers easily.

jvincent
Community Participant

My school has been able to institute school-wide calendars by creating a course and adding all faculty to it as teachers.  No one uses the actual course for anything other than the calendar and everyone can turn it on/off in their calendar controls.  We currently use this for an "Assessment Calendar" where teachers add their major assessments and all teachers can see when they are scheduled.  This is to make sure students are not overloaded on specific days.

I could see this approach working for many of the situations people have asked about in this thread.  For any group (account, sub-account, etc) that needs a calendar, you would just need to create a course and add all those who need to be able to see the calendar as students and those who need to edit it as teachers.  No one uses the course structure, but now it is listed as a calendar for all those added and viewing it can be turned on and off as needed.