[Inbox] Add rich-content editor to Conversations

As a user, I would like to be able to use the rich-content editor to compose messages in the Conversations inbox. This would enable me to create Conversations that are on par, formatting- and content-wise, with Announcements. (Students seem to read Conversations messages more diligently than Announcements.)

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Mia Nolan

Special thanks for contributions by: Stefanie Sanders

230 Comments
ClaireDeMarco
Community Novice

The Inbox messages in Canvas should have more features. Primarily, the ability to add links seems necessary in order to be able to direct students to particular assignments, pages, or files. Other features usually available in the rich content editor should be added to messages, such as being able to insert a table.

I'm a middle school teacher and I would like to be able to send my students personalized monthly grade updates. If I were able to insert a table, I could show students all of their assignments and what they scored. Then, if the assignment names actually hyperlinked to the assignments, students would easily be able to re-do or make up assignments that they failed.

Thank you for considering.

KS10
Community Member

I agree! Rich Content Editor would be so helpful in Canvas Messaging. Especially text formatting (bold, italics, color, etc.) AND the ability to hyperlink!

klatour
Community Member

I was just thinking about this, and now I see this has been an idea for 5 years and nothing has been done? We can't even add italics to emphasize words in email messages, let alone embed images. This should be upgraded!

judd_curran
Community Member

Hi Klatour,