Allow discussion owner to be changed

(12)

Hi,

Has anyone else noticed the following behavior in Canvas?

When you create a new discussion as a teacher or a course designer, your avatar and name gets assigned to it. A nice touch, isn't it?

233926_pastedImage_1.png

Here is where it gets dicey. If I'm a course designer preparing a course site for a teacher, unless I masquerade as the instructor, the discussions show up under my name, which is at best confusing for students. And I have no other way to transfer the ownership back to the instructor. He has to recreate the discussions, period.

Another use case is when course imports are used. If I import a IMS CC .zip file from another site, the discussions will not be assigned to any user at all.

233945_pastedImage_3.png

Could it be possible to enable:

1. Unassign discussions so they don't show up as owned by anyone (like the second screenshot)?
  2. Transfer ownership back to another instructor in the class on individual discussions or in bulk?

That's it, thanks for voting up!

26 Comments
Renee_Carney
Community Team
Community Team

Thank you for this submission.  There was a past (archived) idea that had a fair amount of votes and conversation.  You might want to cross-link and share your new idea with that group.  https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/1485 

mathieu-plourde
Community Novice

Thanks for the pointer, Renee! I posted comments on two related ideas.

https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/1521 

https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/1485 

thayerm
Community Novice

There are quite a few requests that are similar to this. I would like to note that even this morning I had a faculty who is a steward of a course (created the master copy) ask me how to hide his information from the discussion because the teacher of the courses think it will be confusing to the students. If end user experience is important (it is) then this needs to be a higher priority.

stuart_ryan
Community Novice