Allow discussion owner to be changed

(12)

Hi,

Has anyone else noticed the following behavior in Canvas?

When you create a new discussion as a teacher or a course designer, your avatar and name gets assigned to it. A nice touch, isn't it?

233926_pastedImage_1.png

Here is where it gets dicey. If I'm a course designer preparing a course site for a teacher, unless I masquerade as the instructor, the discussions show up under my name, which is at best confusing for students. And I have no other way to transfer the ownership back to the instructor. He has to recreate the discussions, period.

Another use case is when course imports are used. If I import a IMS CC .zip file from another site, the discussions will not be assigned to any user at all.

233945_pastedImage_3.png

Could it be possible to enable:

1. Unassign discussions so they don't show up as owned by anyone (like the second screenshot)?
  2. Transfer ownership back to another instructor in the class on individual discussions or in bulk?

That's it, thanks for voting up!

26 Comments
nsweeten
Community Contributor

@j_e_sjoberg ‌ Good clarification.  The creator of a discussion should only be shown in the unusual event that it is a student--in courses that allow this. 

ctsang
Community Explorer

Please create some functionality around this feature. As an Instructional Designer who often helps edit faculty work, I don't want students to be confused by a different Author than their professor in the course. A faculty member has also expressed as much to me, and while I can blank out my profile picture with a white page,  I cannot remove my name from the discussion post. While small, this would be a great quality of life update for me and I'm sure many others.

amanda_lemaster
Community Explorer