cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Allow for clean reset of course content when a template is in place

Allow for clean reset of course content when a template is in place

0 Kudos
(2)

When a template is in place in an account or sub-account, the template is copied into any new course created there. Since the Reset Course Content process creates a new course, the template is applied to that course.

I like the logic of "if I messed up the base files while setting up the course, I can reset the course to the default setup." That's a great use of resetting the course content.

If a teacher has an existing course they want to copy into another course within this account/sub-account, copying into the templated-course could result in duplication of files and activities. Best practice would be to reset the new course first, then import the course copy. However, the template will always be re-applied.

My idea: For account/sub-accounts where a template has been assigned, provide a new button [Clear Course Content] in course Settings that provides a completely empty course.

5 Comments
ctitmus
Community Team
Community Team
Status changed to: Open for Conversation
 
aaron_bahmer
Community Contributor

Thanks for your comments. It would be better if my idea read as:

For account/sub-accounts where a template has been assigned, provide a new button [Clear Course Content] in course Settings that provides a completely empty course.

Stefanie
Community Team
Community Team

@aaron_bahmer We made that edit for you, Aaron.

aaron_bahmer
Community Contributor

@Stefanie - thank you! (bold not necessary, though)

Stefanie
Community Team
Community Team

@aaron_bahmer All fixed! 🙂

About Idea Conversations
In the Canvas Community Ideas space, you can share, converse, and rate idea conversations related to software improvements to Canvas products.