When a template is in place in an account or sub-account, the template is copied into any new course created there. Since the Reset Course Content process creates a new course, the template is applied to that course.
I like the logic of "if I messed up the base files while setting up the course, I can reset the course to the default setup." That's a great use of resetting the course content.
If a teacher has an existing course they want to copy into another course within this account/sub-account, copying into the templated-course could result in duplication of files and activities. Best practice would be to reset the new course first, then import the course copy. However, the template will always be re-applied.
My idea: For account/sub-accounts where a template has been assigned, provide a new button [Clear Course Content] in course Settings that provides a completely empty course.