[Dashboard] Allow past enrollments to be added to course menu

I'm a designer.  I have a ton of courses in my "all courses" list, and would like to periodically switch which ones I'm able to quickly access from my customized list, even if the course is one from the past.  Canvas says "To customize the list of courses, click on the "All Courses" link and star the courses to display."  Of course they fail to tell you that this doesn't apply to past enrollments.  Bummer.

My idea: Make it so when I click on the star next to a course in the Past Enrollments section, I don't get a message that says "This course cannot be added to the courses menu at this time."  

35 Comments
beerline_n
Community Participant

I never thought about that! It seems an unnecessary step to take, but thanks for the workaround!

Nora

Nora Beerline

Assistant Professor of English

Rhodes State College

4240 Campus Drive

Lima, OH 45804

419-204-7656, 419-995-8810

beerline.n@rhodesstate.edu

Rhodes State… the #1 Choice.

This is an email from Rhodes State College. It is intended for the recipient only and may contain confidential and privileged information. No one else may read, print, store, copy, forward or act on the confidential information contained in this email or the email attachments without permission. If you are not the intended recipient, please return the message to the sender and delete the message and any attachments from your computer.

arlesha_roberts
Community Novice

It's like having the books you need right in front of You rather then

having them put away

dholton
Community Participant

Future courses are locked, too: Why are Future Courses locked? 

Which means that an instructor working on building a course that's about to be offered can't star it and quickly access it.

So I'd recommend this feature request be modified to allow any and all courses (past or future or present) to be starred and added to the dashboard.

kmeeusen
Community Champion

Hi  @dholton ‌