[Dashboard] Allow past enrollments to be added to course menu

I'm a designer.  I have a ton of courses in my "all courses" list, and would like to periodically switch which ones I'm able to quickly access from my customized list, even if the course is one from the past.  Canvas says "To customize the list of courses, click on the "All Courses" link and star the courses to display."  Of course they fail to tell you that this doesn't apply to past enrollments.  Bummer.

My idea: Make it so when I click on the star next to a course in the Past Enrollments section, I don't get a message that says "This course cannot be added to the courses menu at this time."  

35 Comments
hasti
Community Champion

This is a MUCH needed feature. The absence of it combined with the slow context switches as I go to all my courses and then click on the class I want mean that the lack of this is adding hours of wasted time to my course development every semester.

ceb
Community Novice

Past Enrollments is a mess! It's not organized by date and cannot be customized or ordered.

When you have loads of previous classes, it's a pain to find old information! Pretty please fix this archaic system.

joe_fahs
Community Participant

One of the purposes of Canvas is to provide simplicity and clarity to faculty. Not being able to determine which courses (Past and Current) show in the Dashboard is disappointing. 

mr_briantucker
Community Novice

Somehow my school administrators removed my prior semester's courses from the dashboard and I'm told they can't be replaced there, even by them.  Extremely bad, time-wasting software design.  I'm discouraged to see that this proposal has been online for about three years, and no action has been taken.

ams1
Community Novice