Allow selection of more than one set of pronouns

0 Likes
(36)

What it says in the title— allow users to select more than one set of pronouns.

43 Comments
kirsten_ryall
Community Participant

Agreed, the more options the better. Some people may choose to identify with more than one pronoun. 

heyitsana143
Community Member

I was checking Canvas and I saw that there are only three pronoun options. She/her, he/him, and they/them. While it is great Canvas added they/them, lots of nonbinary people may use other pronouns, also called neopronouns. These are pronouns that are not anything that is she, he, or they. 

These pronouns are very real and legit. They are used by neurodivergent people and or gender non conforming folks. I myself use it/its pronouns simply because they fit me best. As a student I find it frustrating that every time I talk to my peers or teachers I have to remind them about my pronouns. These set of pronouns can be hard to understand or remember, so having it displayed on my name would be much easier. If he, she, and they are allowed, why can't I put my own pronouns?

I think this would best work as an 'other' option that allows you to type your own pronouns. Plus, people may use one then more pronoun set. For example someone may use she/her and they/them. So they would be able to type both instead of having to pick on Canvas.

For more information you can read this New York Times article: https://www.nytimes.com/2021/04/08/style/neopronouns-nonbinary-explainer.html

StacyMorris
Community Novice

Agreed - more and multiple options please (including write-ins).

LillyPittman
Community Novice

Yes. We need more options, and please include write-ins.

mpfaff1
Community Participant