Allowing "list view" for observer accounts

0 Likes
(3)

List view can be a nice way for parents to see at a glance a summary of the student's classes without having to click the course card to go into each class. Currently, only students, teachers/admins have this view. Can we please have this view for observers as well?

7 Comments
Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni
Status changed to: Open

KristinL
Community Team
Community Team

Hi! This would be a great feature for the browser experience, yes. In the meantime, have you looked at Canvas Parent? It has an at-a-glance view for each week that sounds very similar to what you've described! 😊

What is the Canvas Parent app? 

How do I view the calendar of events and assignments for a student in the Canvas Parent app on my iO... 

rrmcmurry
Community Member

I'm new to canvas as is my son.  In trying to find an optimal workflow for him, we discovered the list view and found that out of all of the available options, the list view on the dashboard was the best way for him to know where he stood each day.  He can mark assignments that the teachers intended to be optional as complete even if he hasn't submitted anything. It's like a giant to do list of all of his assignments for every class in chronological order by due date.  I would love to be able to log in as an observer and see the exact same view.  As it stands, I am forced to log in as him.  There is no other way to see at a glance if he has incomplete, past due or upcoming assignments in all of his classes at once.  This is the high level view I need in order to quickly assess what he should be working on and help him stay focused without being forced to click into each class or each day.  The parent app (which requires the use of my phone) takes a distant second. 

jcremin
Community Explorer