Annotation notifications

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

For more information, please read through the  Canvas Deploy Notes (2021-07-21).

I am an instructor in Canvas, but recently took a course in Canvas. That is when I realized that Canvas generates a new email for each annotation that is made on an assignment. This would be fine except when you consider the volume of annotations that are made on 6 or 7 page writing assignments, I know that sometimes I make over 20 annotations and getting an email for each one of these would be frustrating to say the least.  I would suggest modifying the emails associated with annotation comments to decrease the notifications. I think students become jaded to the notifications because of the volume of notifications and then they miss important information (think of the boy who cried wolf). I have looked at my notifications settings and I was not able to find how to turn annotation notifications off. 

14 Comments
Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni
Status changed to: Moderating

Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni
Status changed to: Open

Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

@HBreazeale Thanks for sharing this idea. As it moves forward for broader discussion, you might also want to add comments to a related conversation: Disaggregate "submission annotation" notifications...

jmullinix
Community Member

YESSSS!  Please allow us to turn off notifications for annotations separately.  If you use the feature for students to digitally fill in a worksheet, it sends the teacher an email for every single thing they write and every line they draw...multiplied by all of the students in the class.  The only way to turn it off is to turn off notifications for submission comments.  Unfortunately, those are often used for students to communicate when they need help.  Please allow us to turn off annotation notifications completely and separately from submission comments.