Announcements page as course home page

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas
  Idea will be open for vote May 5th, 2015 - August 5th, 2015  Learn more about voting...

As an instructor, I want to set the Announcements page in my course as the course home page. Students would see this page first whenever they access the course. Canvas allows a variety of other pages in a course to be set as the home page (activity stream, syllabus, a page I create); why not the Announcements page?

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: C. David Frankel
Thank you especially for contributions by: Mick Cunningham, Josh Blumberg

Comments from instructure

For more information, please read through the Canvas Production Release Notes (2017-01-07)

42 Comments
mlattke
Instructure
Instructure

Alright, twist my arm  😉  Feature request added! 

Terrible title, but I had a hard time putting it into words.

hvaughn
Community Contributor

I know some of our instructors would love this option!

peytoncraighill
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

Thanks for the feedback, everybody!

Deactivated user​ and I are researching this request, and we have a few phone interviews lined up already. If you feel that you've got unique requirements for announcements as a homepage, say so and we'll reach out to schedule something.

Depending on scope and development estimates, we may be able to squeeze this in sometime over the next couple of months, or it may need to be added to our roadmap discussion in September. I'm archiving this idea now, and attaching it to the story so we can keep track of any further discussion. We'll keep you posted!

ccalderon
Community Champion

Love this idea - I just voted for it!

bschneider
Community Novice

Well here we are its now literally the last day of September... any word on how this is progressing?

I just had another request from a Professor this afternoon.

Kind regards,

Brent

peytoncraighill
Instructure Alumni