Anonymous Discussion Forums

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

Idea:

Instructors can create discussions that allow for posts to be made anonymously

Use Cases:

As an instructor, I want to create discussions in which participation is anonymous. This would free my students to share their thoughts without worrying about judgement / criticism by their peers or me. They'd take risks they might not otherwise.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Lynn McCarty
Thank you especially for contributions by: Rob Ditto, Allison Pyle, Renee Carney, Robert Jones

151 Comments
johnsonbria
Community Novice

The link provide to understand what it means for product radar is broken. It goes to a whoops page.

johnsonbria
Community Novice

I agree, Marshall. This is a basic feature which many of systems allow and support.

daniel_sze
Community Novice

Dear all,

When I looked back at all the initial suggestions and the way that Canvas responded to this basic but very useful request back to 2015, I was surprised that this Anonymous Discussion Forum is still not be an routine option for Teacher to choose.

In our university, we have started to have students who have graduated with High Distinction from that course in previous year to volunteer as MENTORS to provide some assistance and constructive feedback in the Discussion Forums, however, the participation rate is still poor. An Anonymous survey then was created to seek why the students did not participate in this well-resourced Discussion Forum, and the answer is very clear -- The students prefer to ask questions in an anonymous environment. 

I hope that this option can be up in the Forum after the initial 2 years' original posts by many dedicated teachers around the world.

Cheers,

Daniel Sze

doylem3
Community Novice

Please add this feature. I will be using piaza for class discussions until it is added. 

colleen_harmon
Community Participant