Anonymous Discussion Forums

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

Idea:

Instructors can create discussions that allow for posts to be made anonymously

Use Cases:

As an instructor, I want to create discussions in which participation is anonymous. This would free my students to share their thoughts without worrying about judgement / criticism by their peers or me. They'd take risks they might not otherwise.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Lynn McCarty
Thank you especially for contributions by: Rob Ditto, Allison Pyle, Renee Carney, Robert Jones

151 Comments
Renee_Carney
Community Team
Community Team

The Radar idea stage has been removed from the Feature Idea Process.  You can read more about why in the blog post Adaptation: Feature Idea Process Changes.

This change will only impact the stage sort of this idea and will not change how it is voted on or how it is considered during prioritization activities.  This change will streamline the list of ideas 'open for voting', making it easier for you to see the true top voted ideas in one sort, here.

mikeg
Community Participant

I find it a bit mind boggling that such a simple and straightforward feature has not been implemented.  As a result, I am forced to use a third party discussion board.

aaron_bahmer
Community Contributor

Saddened that three years of positive voting and comments has yielded nothing. Indeed, please implement this.

kewilliams1
Community Novice

This would be a useful feature. At my school professors are split between email and canvas discussions. People tend to choose email when they are worried about asking a "stupid question". Anonymous discussions would help resolve this. 

michellee_there
Community Novice