Anonymous Discussion Forums

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

Idea:

Instructors can create discussions that allow for posts to be made anonymously

Use Cases:

As an instructor, I want to create discussions in which participation is anonymous. This would free my students to share their thoughts without worrying about judgement / criticism by their peers or me. They'd take risks they might not otherwise.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Lynn McCarty
Thank you especially for contributions by: Rob Ditto, Allison Pyle, Renee Carney, Robert Jones

151 Comments
laura1_wilt
Community Novice

Great idea so that students can use their voice to express themselves about a topic even though they may be nervous about being correct or not. It would have to have a feature though where the teacher could see who is posting in case of misuse. 

aime_fournier
Community Member

Since we've been waiting so many years for this feature, I suggest to keep it simple and not let the teacher see who's posting even if there were misuse. If the misuse were serious e.g., harassment, the institution's IT department could trace the post's IP addresses; if it were not serious, it wouldn't matter.

When I had another LMS years ago that enabled anonymous posts, it was good that students could vent like "wow I hated today's lecture" with impunity ---not that they often posted that Smiley Happy

cbutler
Community Member

I am quite surprised that this feature is not in the platform yet. 

danielle_wilson
Community Explorer

I am trying to get my faculty to the discussion boards in online and blended courses more often. This task would be easier if they had the option to make some discussion posts anonymous. Any chance this idea is finally going to be considered?

mgarcia-ojeda
Community Member

I believe it is imperative to have anonymous submission in the discussion groups.  Please incorporate this simple feature ASAP.  

gemma_sinclair