Anonymous Discussion Forums

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

Idea:

Instructors can create discussions that allow for posts to be made anonymously

Use Cases:

As an instructor, I want to create discussions in which participation is anonymous. This would free my students to share their thoughts without worrying about judgement / criticism by their peers or me. They'd take risks they might not otherwise.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Lynn McCarty
Thank you especially for contributions by: Rob Ditto, Allison Pyle, Renee Carney, Robert Jones

151 Comments
daniel_sze
Community Novice

Dear all

Please note that in BLACKBOARD learning platform, this Anonymous discussion forum has been there for many years. I hope that CANVAS developers really need to look at what competitors are offering and supporting.

I strongly support the use of this Anonymous Discussion Forum in Higher Education (University and Adult learning). There will be a SWITICH so that teachers in Primary School and High School (Secondary School) to turn off this Anonymous Discussion because they need to keep the progress of individual students under very close monitoring.

Cheers

Daniel.

Dr Daniel Man-yuen SZE PhD (Birmingham) PhD (Sydney) MMedSc MSc MEd FIBMS CFIAC

Program Coordinator MC158 - Master of Laboratory Medicine

School of Health and Biomedical Sciences, RMIT

Building 201, Level 9, Room 3

Plenty Road

Bundoora 3083, Australia

Tel. +61 3 9925 6524

Mobile: +61 414 477 466

Email: daniel.sze@rmit.edu.au<mailto:daniel.sze@rmit.edu.au>

MC158 Canvas Website: https://rmit.instructure.com/courses/39079

CRICOS provider code: 00122A

IMPORTANT NOTE

This email and any attachments are confidential and subject to copyright.