Anonymous Discussion Forums

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

Idea:

Instructors can create discussions that allow for posts to be made anonymously

Use Cases:

As an instructor, I want to create discussions in which participation is anonymous. This would free my students to share their thoughts without worrying about judgement / criticism by their peers or me. They'd take risks they might not otherwise.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Lynn McCarty
Thank you especially for contributions by: Rob Ditto, Allison Pyle, Renee Carney, Robert Jones

151 Comments
helene_tyrrell
Community Novice

This is, in my view, an essential feature for a VLE. In my experience (teaching with Blackboard, Moodle and now Canvas), students are simply not as likely to ask the questions they need to if they have no option to be anonymous. Please review! 

rlawyer
Community Explorer

Would someone from Instructure please be able to comment on the status of this request? I understand that Harmonize is available, but we would rather not have to use another integration for something that should be a basic feature of a discussion forum.

cmuir
Community Participant

Also here looking for an update.  I would love this feature, particularly with the "anonymous to other students, identified to instructor" option suggested by several others. 

c_musselman
Community Member

Please please please add an anonymous option to Discussions. This is extremely important for some of the very sensitive subjects we'll all be working with in Fall 2020. I mean, it has always been important, but now it's crucial.

lisa_fishburn
Community Explorer

This has over 700 votes now. Why is this not being actioned? We are losing this feature moving from Blackboard and our academic colleagues are asking for this in their droves. Allowing anonymous discussions often encourages those who may not engage if they are named, particularly when discussing sensitive topics.