Anonymous Discussion Forums

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

Idea:

Instructors can create discussions that allow for posts to be made anonymously

Use Cases:

As an instructor, I want to create discussions in which participation is anonymous. This would free my students to share their thoughts without worrying about judgement / criticism by their peers or me. They'd take risks they might not otherwise.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Lynn McCarty
Thank you especially for contributions by: Rob Ditto, Allison Pyle, Renee Carney, Robert Jones

151 Comments
jlmasters
Community Participant

Is there a way to vote on this in this new setup? I don't see that option.

Anonymous posts would be very useful for instructors to allow a way for students to post questions they are uncomfortable asking if identified.

whaymand
Community Member

I am a lecturer at a UK University. Previous experience has shown that students are far more likely to participate in discussion if there is an option to post messages anonymously on discussion boards. This is simply part and parcel of being a student, worried that people will think worse of them if they make mistakes publicly. The main rival VLE, 'Blackboard', permits this. It is therefore really quite astonishing that there is not an option to permit anonymous posting in Canvas.

The increased reliance on computer technology in teaching, owing to the present pandemic, makes this problem more acute than ever. We need the technology to be sufficiently flexible to work with the processes and the people who will be using it - the students, meaning the students as they actually are, acting like ordinary human beings with ordinary talents and fears, and not like idealised users who are to fit the technology. The technology ought to fit the people who use it.

I therefore urge you to add this option with the utmost urgency.

With sincere regards,

Derek Whayman

Newcastle Law School