Anonymous Discussion Forums

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

Idea:

Instructors can create discussions that allow for posts to be made anonymously

Use Cases:

As an instructor, I want to create discussions in which participation is anonymous. This would free my students to share their thoughts without worrying about judgement / criticism by their peers or me. They'd take risks they might not otherwise.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Lynn McCarty
Thank you especially for contributions by: Rob Ditto, Allison Pyle, Renee Carney, Robert Jones

151 Comments
MandyJJ
Community Member

Come on Canvas listen to the community! enabling the choice for anonymous posting to Discussions is vital, at least anonymous to the rest of the students so that they can feel free to make mistakes!

CounselingSD
Community Novice

I am creating a Canvas class for both onboarding and on-going support for students with disabilities starting at our college. It is critical (and the law) that we maintain the confidentiality of the students enrolled in our disability support services. Students enrolled in our support class need a way to participate in the class, and interact student-to-student, without revealing their identity if they wish to remain private about having a disability. 

Please help us provide equitable support and access to our disabled students who also have the right to keep the fact that they are enrolled in Disability Services confidential.

Katrina-Hess
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

Hi everyone, please stay tuned as we are actively exploring Anonymous posting as well as Moderation for our Discussions feature. Thanks so much for your patience and feedback!

Best, Katrina

Beth_Salerno
Community Novice