Anonymous Discussion Forums

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

Idea:

Instructors can create discussions that allow for posts to be made anonymously

Use Cases:

As an instructor, I want to create discussions in which participation is anonymous. This would free my students to share their thoughts without worrying about judgement / criticism by their peers or me. They'd take risks they might not otherwise.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Lynn McCarty
Thank you especially for contributions by: Rob Ditto, Allison Pyle, Renee Carney, Robert Jones

151 Comments
ebwstitt
Community Member

Any update on getting this feature? It's been 3 months. Not that we are anxious about going hybrid (ok maybe we are), but this would help.

It would be nice if it was anonymous for the class but not the teacher could tell who was posting.

mdthomas
Community Contributor

@Katrina-Hess To give additional context, the year 2020 has brought up so many topics that require deep dives and expressions - such as racial injustice; COVID policies, effect on economy, healthcare; environmental issues; diversity and inclusion; etc. We have interest similar to @vnieders from faculty in Psychology, Environmental Science, Health and Human Performance to name just a few.

The ability to have anonymous discussions or even the ability to allow students assign a pen name or pseudonym when participating in discussion (which was another request from an English faculty member) would be wonderful and if there is another opportunity to vote up this request - I'm sure you were receive several "up" votes from our institution alone.

Katrina-Hess
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni