Anonymous peer review

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas
  Idea will be open for vote May 5th, 2015 - August 5th, 2015  Learn more about voting...

As an instructor, I'd like to have the option to assign anonymous peer reviews on assignments. In an anonymous peer review, students would know neither the name of the person whose work they are reviewing nor the name of the person who reviewed their work. Instructors would know who reviewed whose work.

transferred from the old Community

Originally Posted By: Neal Legler
Special thanks for contributions by: Stephan Deban, Lindsey Mercer, Jared Chapman

Comments from Instructure

October 2015 Update!

Part 4 of Anonymous Peer Review is Complete

Find more information in the Canvas Production Release Notes (2015-10-10)

54 Comments
Community Participant

I see this as a key feature in effective peer review.

In the spirit of "skating to where the puck is going to be", please take note that other platforms that have been doing this for years are recognizing the need for asynchronous peer review and are working in that direction.

As you build your platform please consider asynchronous work flows as well. I have written proposals that are being used by other LMSs and would love to share them with Canvas. In a world of Moocs, corporate training, competency based training, quest based training, choose your own adventure style training, and cafeteria style training, it is no longer reasonable to assume that students will be in the same place in the course as all other students. We must accommodate a variety of paths and speeds through content while at the same time allowing for social interaction and engagement in learning.

I added the proposal as a feature request but it got archived as too ambitious. Hopefully the team working on this will look the proposal over and keep it in mind as they design so they can head this direction.

browning339l
Community Contributor