Auto Save Rubrics or Give Save Warning

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

Several times, when grading with a rubric, I find that I have navigated away from the rubric without saving the marks. Is it possible to add a warning that the rubric markings have not been saved when I attempt to navigate away? I believe that sometimes this happens because I added comments at the bottom of the grading page, and only hit that "Submit" button, but not the Save button for the rubric. Perhaps that Submit button could take care of both the rubric and the comments? 

86 Comments
dadmiraal
Community Member

This should absolutely be fixed.  Provide an autosave option for the rubric in speedgrader so that when the user navigates to the next page the current page is automatically saved.  Also add a discard option in case the grader wants to revert to previous comments.

mdudek
Community Novice

YEAH I am not a UX Designer but this seems like an easy fix to me.  

I know the CANVAS crew has a lot to deal with and as frustrating as this glitch in the grading matrix is I appreciate your efforts.

mstpierre
Community Explorer

I echo all of these statements; this is so frustrating and has happened 5 times today alone.  Esp. b/c if you  hit the N or P key it automatically changes pages.  So much time lost, and it makes it so hard to give individual comments to only have them all disappear.  Please fix this! The comments are auto saved - why can't the rubric comments be autosaved? 

kyh802
Community Explorer