Auto Save in Rich Content Editor

This is badly needed. We have had several people lost content they were writing in discussion posts and it would be useful when creating pages as well. Even here in the community Jive has this feature and I love it. Canvas needs it too!!

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

For more information, please read through Canvas Release Notes (2020-03-21) 

58 Comments
anne_karakash
Community Novice

So I see this conversation has been going on since 2015.  It is now 2018 and I found my way here today after my cat jumped on my keyboard and I lost a discussion board post.  There should have been a warning before it allowed me to "navigate away" with unsaved text in the box.  I'm no software engineer, but this doesn't seem like a difficult feature to enact.  After all, there is a warning when I look at an assignment and navigate away before submitting it - so you have the ability.  Any thoughts on when you will take action on this? 

Also, I just noticed that my message here was just auto-saved.  I can assure you, this content is not as important as the content that is being graded.  Come on, Canvas, you need to take care of this, please.

timothy_maw
Community Champion

This would be extremely helpful and it seems like it could be added. Our institution is in the process of implementing Bridge and when I saw it has an auto-save feature I was excited and then my next thought was "I really wish they could add this to Canvas." I hope this is truly on the radar but, it does seem like Instructure has learned some lessons from Canvas with Bridge.

Boekenoogen
Community Contributor

I can see this update to be a big plus in developing content. 

Renee_Carney
Community Team
Community Team

This idea influenced the development of Quizzes.Next.

• Quizzes.Next is now available for all paid accounts.