Automatically Remove Missing Flag Once Grade is Entered

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

For on paper or no submission assignments, if a grade is flagged as missing, but then later points are added to the gradebook, the missing flag remains.  The instructor then needs to manually remove the missing flag, even though points were assigned.  It would be great to have the missing flag automatically disappear once points were entered (signifying that it is no longer missing).  The option to have the missing automatically turn into late would be even better.

78 Comments
ANDREAHICKLIN
Community Novice

I am a teacher using Canvas and synchronizing to my school's SIS afterwards.

I keep encountering the same difficulty --- I set up an assignment, collect it, and type scores into Canvas (sometimes through Speed Grader, other times directly onto the gradebook screen).  Then the deadline for the assignment passes, and all the scores that I entered get the "missing" status applied to them.

I understand that the system is not seeing my manual score entry as a submission.  I get that.

But now there is confusion because the students see both a score and a "missing" label.

I need a way to EITHER change the status of a whole column all at once OR to give Canvas a rule wherein if there's already a score in a column, it doesn't add the "missing" status OR to make the status labels something that I apply manually instead of automatically, OR... 

Basically any idea that avoids me having to go through 70 or more scores and remove the missing tag would be very, very, VERY helpful.

Thanks!

aloomis
Community Participant

2018. Nearly four years ago this suggestion was made. And still nothing.