[Discussions] Bring back push notifications for discussion boards.

I'm not sure why push notifications for discussion boards were disabled, but please reenable them.  I'm a student and they were a great way to get notified when there was a new post, or response.

43 Comments
Theycallmekc
Community Member

Please bring back push notifications for discussions! I am a student, and this is already negatively impacting my performance in my online classes. Every class that I am taking uses discussion posts and the push notifications made it a lot easier to view and respond to my classmates when they have posted.

The email notifications work for the time being, but they are not as quick or as easy to use as the push notifications. I also don't always see the email notifications because my teachers send out a lot of emails each day, so the discussion notifications get lost in all of the emails. Thus, I don't see that my classmates have responded to the post and I respond to them very late. 

Please bring back the push notifications so that I can see when my classmates respond and I can post a response in a timely manner.

kchilds1
Community Explorer

@Theycallmekc, thank you for sharing the student perspective! I know I have missed several student questions the first days of the semester. While I get the email notifications, I get too many emails and don't always see them right away. The push notifications highlight what I need to respond to. 

deeunavailable
Community Novice

I really liked the push notifications for discussion posts. It was very helpful and I don't know how I am going to get through this semester without this feature. Please bring it back!!

dhulsey
Community Champion

Monitoring discussions is difficult without notifications. The rationale for restricting any notifications is murky. Let users decide what notifications help their productivity instead of forcing someone else's work habits onto everyone.