[Discussions] Bring back push notifications for discussion boards.

I'm not sure why push notifications for discussion boards were disabled, but please reenable them.  I'm a student and they were a great way to get notified when there was a new post, or response.

43 Comments
rachel_page
Community Participant

Couldn’t agree more

tragarz_roberta
Community Explorer

Ditto!!!!!!!!😶

riki_thompson
Community Member
Please bring back push notifications for individually chosen discussion boards.

Classes just started and I created a discussion board for students to ask questions and share ideas - it is a central go-to place and has been extremely important for student learning and cultivating a learning community online in the past. Last week I told students to set notifications so they can stay abreast of new posts but then discovered this feature has been disable. This is unfortunate and it will certainly mean that students will be less likely to use this space that can support their learning by creating a virtual community that works similar to other social media platforms that they are accustomed to.

Push notifications for discussion boards is such an important piece to students actually using the discussion board! While a global push for boards in one class is not ideal because some boards are assignment focused and students will go to the board in response to assignment deadlines, the ability to set push notifications for specific boards (like classroom community boards, student sharing spaces, FAQ boards) are extremely helpful. Please bring back push notifications!
A_Persaud
Community Novice

I am a student. There should be an option to get notifications whenever a new comment is posted in a discussion board. I used to get notifications, but now I do not. And maybe the option to choose specific discussion boards you want notifications for.

Wretched0123456
Community Member