Change Code in Rich Content Editor to Download Documents

0 Likes
(2)

As an instructor, I would like to see the new code in the new Rich Content Editor for Insert > Documents > Course Documents changed back to the old code. The old code allowed the student to click a document on a page and download it immediately to their computer. Easy, peasy. Now what happens with the new code is when you click the document, instead of an immediate download, it now opens another page with a download link and preview of the document.

7 Comments
Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni
Status changed to: Archived

@nvannostrand 

Thanks for sharing this idea. I just tested this in a course that has the New Rich Content Editor (RCE) enabled; when I clicked on the document, it immediately downloaded to my computer without opening a new tab or window. I'm using the latest version of Chrome on a Mac.

When I tested the same page and document on Firefox, a popup displayed giving me option to download the file or open it in Firefox.

Variances in this behavior are not controlled by the RCE; they are usually attributable to which browser the student is using, or how the browser's settings have been configured.

Should you have specific users who are unable to download a document to their devices with a single click, please send them to the IT Desk for your school to get assistance with the configuration of their browsers.

As this behavior is not dependent on the RCE, we've archived the idea.

nvannostrand
Community Member

Hi Stefanie,

Thank you for your response. I really don't think it has anything to do with my browser as I am using the latest version of Chrome and did not have any issue with downloading files before the new RCE. I would be interested in seeing the code for the document you downloaded?

Here is an example of the old code in my Canvas course with the old RCE: