Commons Permalinks (direct URL link to content)

Currently, sharing specific content with users in the commons is a bit difficult. I need to instruct users what keywords to search for and the exact title of the item I want them to use.

I believe permalinks that point directly to an object in the commons would be very useful. Something that could be shared with a Canvas user that would direct them to an item in the Commons. Pardon my horrible rendition (I'm not a designer), but this gives an idea of what I mean:

75192_permalink_idea.pngpermalink_idea.png

Original posting for this feature idea: Shareable URL links

If I create content and I want to inform teachers how to find the content easily in the commons, it seems it would be easy if I could generate a quick shareable link that would take any user directly to the resource. I may have missed something, but I don't think a feature like this currently exists.

Transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Robert Caldwell

Additional contributions by: Michelle Lattke

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

For more information, please read through Ready Release Notes (2020-04-04) 

16 Comments
jordan
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

@caldwell ​ I think this is a fantastic idea! Perhaps having a "share" section with several ways to share the content, would be nice.

1. Get Link (permalink url)
  2. Shave via email
  3. Share to twitter
  4. etc.

I'm going to pass your idea over to the Commons Feature Ideas​ space to make sure it gets the proper attention.

Thanks for submitting this!

curtain
Community Participant

Yes, this would be excellent for making it easier for people to get to important resources.  Giving people titles and keywords and asking them to search is a bit much sometimes.  Our institution would use this a lot and right away.

Not applicable

Permalinks to Canvas Commons would be really useful at my institution as well!

mikescheid
Community Contributor