[Courses] Comprehensive Course Search Tool (Searching Course Content for a Topic)

I always find it useful to search for content using an index or an actual search tool rather than just scrolling through all of the pages one by one to find what I need.  I can see many uses for this:
  1. As a student, I know that a particular topic was covered but I'm not sure where.  I can search the course for the keyword and the page hits will come up.
  2. As an instructor, I want to know where else these students have seen a particular concept.  I can search a bunch of courses for a keyword and the courses and page hits will come up.
  3. As a student, as I am trying to integrate information from multiple lectures within a course or within multiple courses, it would be useful to see where a particular concept has been covered.

Tracey

Added to Theme

Add or improve search functionality Theme Status: Identified

206 Comments
g_r_saward
Community Novice

Thanks Laura. And I am interested to see your comment about Google search – I had been wondering whether they would crawl a public canvas course. We use their search appliance internally, and I was wondering about adding the VLE content in.

g_r_saward
Community Novice

Whereas I have found memories of a noodle eating poodle :^)

awilliams
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

Yep, this works pretty good. You can see it in action in our Resource Center for Faculty course.

g_r_saward
Community Novice

Great. Thanks Adam, its good to know that it works well :^)

laurakgibbs
Community Champion

Wow, awilliams‌ that looks so nice!!!

tfarmer
Community Novice

I am so excited that this is in the Product Radar status! In one given account, we can have almost 300 courses, so searching for one specific item within every single course is a daunting task. The ability to search all courses at once would be fantastic. I look forward to watching this progress!

daryl_scopes
Community Participant