[Courses] Comprehensive Course Search Tool (Searching Course Content for a Topic)

I always find it useful to search for content using an index or an actual search tool rather than just scrolling through all of the pages one by one to find what I need.  I can see many uses for this:
  1. As a student, I know that a particular topic was covered but I'm not sure where.  I can search the course for the keyword and the page hits will come up.
  2. As an instructor, I want to know where else these students have seen a particular concept.  I can search a bunch of courses for a keyword and the courses and page hits will come up.
  3. As a student, as I am trying to integrate information from multiple lectures within a course or within multiple courses, it would be useful to see where a particular concept has been covered.

Tracey

Added to Theme

Add or improve search functionality Theme Status: Identified

206 Comments
jacoba_behunin
Community Novice

Hi all!

I'm with Atomic Jolt (Alliance Partner - Atomic Jolt). You may be interested to know that we released Atomic Search for Canvas just before InstructureCon17.

You can install a free version in your course or subaccount by going to atomicjolt.com/search. Check it out--it's pretty cool and solves that pesky searching problem. 

Feel free to message me or email me directly at jacoba.behunin@atomicjolt.com if you'd like to chat. 

Best,

Jacoba

atomicjolt‌

atomicsearch‌

stevensons
Community Contributor

I'd love to hear if anyone has tried this out...

v_renolds
Community Novice

This is a great idea as the use cases make really clear.  @rseilham ‌ imagine how much a dedicated course search function would also improve the mobile experience for students and instructors using the apps.

rseilham
Community Champion

I agree. Hopefully, this comes to the web because this generally gives the mobile team the APIs to make this happen. 

jacoba_behunin
Community Novice